sproutingVegans

For Vegans of all Stages and Ages

Happy *late* 4th!

on July 5, 2012

Had a lovely 4th of July picnic yesterday. Made up some delicious sundried tomato pesto (that Kam and I had to prevent ourselves from eating out of the food processor with a spoon) Lightened Up Sundried Tomato Pesto and some “healthy” oat bars. Healthy Strawberry Oat Bars.

Would definitely make the pesto again, in fact, I want more right now! I tripled the recipe, we made a huge batch of pasta and ate the remainder for dinner spread on toasted bread (New Seasons, I know, we’re spoiled). I have to say the flavors came out much better when used on bread. I don’t know what it is about the pasta but it really dulled the deliciousness of the pesto, made it taste much more bland. This would be amazing on a panini!

As for the “healthy” oat squares, what a deceptive title! I love the Oh She Glows blog so I didn’t carefully read the recipe before I picked it and got started. A whole stick of earth balance + 2 extra tablespoons!?!? Two different types of sweetner. Good grief! Great for a treat, but I would definitely not ever use the term healthy to describe them! The upside, I got to use the raspberry jam I made from fresh berries (another Oh She Glows recipe Magical Blueberry Vanilla Chia Seed Jam.) and they were a big hit at the picnic. Everyone seems to assume that everything brought by “the vegans” is uber healthy. LOL!

Today, up to visit LettuceMuncher! Woohoo, it’s long overdue and I’m very much looking forward to it. (ketchup packed)

My next post will likely involve the awkwardness of visiting non-vegan friends (who spend their retirement hunting and fishing no less).

Hey LettuceMuncher, don’t let me forget to have you show me how to add a picture to this thing!


Leave a comment