sproutingVegans

For Vegans of all Stages and Ages

Almost Oil Free Pesto

on July 8, 2012

Last week I made this “lightened up” sundried tomato pesto and it was delicious. I did add some olive oil then because it was for a group of people and I usually only experiment on my family (sorry family!). Kam said it was the best pesto he had ever had and said he was absolutely certain that it would be nowhere near as delicious without the added oil. Of course, this sounds like a challenge to me so I had to give it a try. I followed the recipe exactly except I simply omitted the oil. I did go with the sundried tomatoes in oil so it wasn’t technically oil free but a lot more “lightened up” than the original recipe claimed. I think it tasted exactly the same. Kam’s verdict was that it wasn’t as good but was still really, really good (that stinker, I bet if I hadn’t mentioned I made changes he wouldn’t have noticed the difference!). I plated it up fancily because we’re officially on vacation as of this evening and I wanted to mark the occasion. I enjoyed it in true mamma style, while doing laps around the sofa holding a fussy baby in one arm. And of course, there was the obligatory toasted bread spread thick with hummus that ended up hummus side down next to our 2 1/2 year old. Note to self: replace carpeting of entire house with linoleum. All-in-all, a great start to a Summer trip!

Normally we wait until we have fresh tomatoes from our own garden to do dinners like this, but ours are still small and green and I’ve been craving fresh tomatoes for a few weeks. In honor of our vacation we coughed up the dough for some New Seasons heirloom ones. Yummy, but still doesn’t hold a candle to warm fresh picked home grown ones. Also, that’s balsamic vinegar, not soy sauce!

We never have a problem polishing off a whole loaf.

Where’s my pesto!

6 responses to “Almost Oil Free Pesto

  1. ejean22 says:

    I should mention that if you’re going to go to the trouble of making this you should at least triple it. I did, and it still made less than 1 1/2 cup (which is fine because a little pesto goes a long way). It keeps well in the fridge so you might as well.

  2. LettuceMuncher says:

    Is the pesto the lump to the right of the tomatoes? And I’m assuming the hummus is in the back, but what is topping it? Looks delicious. I can’t wait for fresh tomatoes either!

  3. bras2moms says:

    Nom, nom. Sounds better than my dinner. I tried a recipe for black bean quinoa burgers. Turned out looking like pudding. I shall come to your house for dinner. lol

  4. Erin Jean says:

    Yes, the pesto is to the right, hummus in the back has some chopped up sun dried tomatoes left over from the pesto on top. Alex couldn’t get enough of them.

  5. Erin Jean says:

    Bummer about the black bean quinoa burgers. We should post our flops too, definitely plenty of them here! I’ve made a couple different bean burgers and have not found a recipe I love. There are so, so many recipes it’s overwhelming.

  6. LettuceMuncher says:

    My latest batch of burgers was really dry. Perhaps we should mix them with the pudding burgers for perfect veggie perfection!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

